Changing the world in 30 seconds

This is a response to one of Lorelle’s blog challenges. She wants people to blog a list of 30 things you can do in 30 seconds (per item, not altogether!) to change the world, and as I am still having trouble thinking about what to write about I thought I would have a go. The definition of ‘changing the world’ is up to the blogger. In my case, some of my examples are ways of changing a person’s world rather than the world as a whole, and some of them are ways of (potentially, and perhaps rather idealistically) changing the world as a whole. I hope that’s allowed. It’s obvious which are which. I must admit that some of the items on my list are similar to those on other lists I have read, and many of them may appear to the more cynical reader (that’s me), to be a bit trite or cliche-like, so I apologise in advance. Also, I should point out that this list is directed at myself as well as whoever reads it. I do realise I’m a hypocrite.

Anyway, here is the list (in no particular order):

  1. Smile
  2. Tell someone you love them (definitely not necessarily in a romantic sense)
  3. Ask someone how they are and listen to their response
  4. Pay someone a compliment
  5. Think before you speak
  6. Turn off unused lights/electrical appliances
  7. Only fill the kettle with the water you need
  8. Turn the heating down one degree
  9. Plant a seed
  10. Change your mind
  11. Say sorry
  12. Forgive someone, or at least think about it
  13. Walk away
  14. Pick up the phone and call someone you haven’t called for ages
  15. Listen
  16. Stop
  17. Sign a petition
  18. Try and see the other person’s point of view
  19. Put something in the re-cycling bin
  20. Vote
  21. Encourage someone who needs encouraging
  22. Post that letter
  23. Ask a question you never dared ask before (getting the answer might take longer than 30 seconds though!)
  24. Offer to help (sorry I stole this one from someone else but I thought it was good)
  25. Decide to make the effort
  26. Let go
  27. Say something nice to someone you dislike (even if it’s just ‘Hello, how are you?’)
  28. Think about the consequences of your action(s)
  29. Look at someone you wouldn’t automatically find attractive and try to see the beauty in them (preferably without freaking them out!)
  30. Be patient
3 thoughts on “Changing the world in 30 seconds

  1. I like this. I think being patient is especially important. Nowadays so many people are in a rush and get so easily angry about being delayed. Sometimes, in the supermarket, I used to let people go ahead of me in the queue, just so as not to be impatient, but I don’t do that now because Kiko is usually going nuts.

    I also like “decide to make the effort”. I’m going to do that right now.

  2. Thanks Helen, glad you like it. I can imagine that being patient in a supermarket queue is a lot more difficult when you have a small child to consider! You probably have a lot of practice at being patient with Kiko though. I’m always a bit in awe of parents/guardians who manage to be patient with children on a regular basis. It’s something I find quite difficult, and I only look after children once in a while at Sunday School! Patience in general isn’t really my strong point, unfortunately.

  3. Fabulous list! I love “post that letter”, which means so much, no matter how to want to interpret it. Well done and thanks for spreading the 30 things in 30 seconds word(s). ;-)

    Together, we can change the world – in 30 seconds or less. It’s about the little things that makes the world a better place, isn’t it?

Leave a reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 221 other followers

