Although it is 2.06pm on a Thursday I am sitting at home writing this, because of the snow. I attempted to get to the railway station this morning, but didn’t get very far. Mr C was braver and went on to the train station, but when I last heard from him he still hadn’t arrived at work! I live about 25 miles from where I work, which is probably too far really. If the trains are running OK the journey is not usually a problem, and I quite enjoy the time sitting on the train most of the time. Any sort of disruption and it’s a different story, unfortunately. I didn’t get back until 8pm on Tuesday because two trains were cancelled due to an electrical failure (or something!).  I have no idea what time I would have got to work today, if at all, and if I’d got there I would have been worried about when or how I would get home.

Non-British readers are probably thinking -‘ what are they making a fuss about?’, particularly given the recent severe weather experienced in the US, as described and photographed by Healing Magic Hands . I’m not sure why, because you would think we would be used to such weather by now, but the transport system in the UK doesn’t do very well whenever there is any sort of ‘severe weather’. Bookmice don’t do very well either, being of a cautious nature, and like to stay inside on days such as today. I have been feeling a bit guilty about not going to work, although I am taking the day off as leave. To assuage my guilt I have been checking work emails, but that’s about all I can do from home.

It’s not the first snow we’ve had this year, but there is more of it this time. I think there are a lot of happy children around the country today – lots of schools have closed and there were pictures of children sledging on the news. We used to go sledging when I was little, on the hills up the road from our house. We were lucky to live on the edge of town so we had the fields nearby, and also fortunate that the countryside around where we lived was hilly enough for sledging. I preferred to sledge on a plastic bag, as it was just as effective as a sledge, and not to far to fall if you fell off. When we were very small mum used to pull us to school on the old wooden sledge which had belonged to her younger sister. We would sometimes get there only to be greeted by the headmaster telling us that the school was closed!

I’m hoping that the weather will be better tomorrow, but all the reports say that it’s going to freeze tonight, which doesn’t bode well for good conditions tomorrow. It does look like the snow if thawing a bit at the moment, so hopefully I will get to the railway station an d the trains will be running alright. It’s getting dark already, and starting to sleet. Lovely.

