This one is definitely going to be a challenge. In her post, Lorelle says, “Think about all that you know and then choose the one thing that you would arrogantly assume you were the master of. Then write about it.” There could be a slight problem with me trying to answer her challenge, in that (a) I don’t think I’m the master of anything and therefore (b) deciding on something I think I actually know enough about to write a whole blog post on is going to be extremely difficult.

Maybe the way forward is to pretend. Pretend I’m someone who knows lots and lots about something, someone who is so arrogant as to assume she’s the master of this and who also believes she is going to make the blogosphere a better place by adding this very interesting and exciting blog post to it. OK.

Err, so what on earth do I know about? Oops, I slipped out of character for a second there.

*Back in character*

Well, how can I possibly accept this challenge? I know about so many things that I can’t begin to decide what to write about.  You know, I don’t think I can write this post because I don’t want people to feel inferior when they read it and realise how little they know about the subject compared to me. Darn.

*Out of character*

Nope, this isn’t going to work. I’m just going to have to write as myself and do what Lorelle tells me, which means not worrying about being arrogant or about what people will think. Aggh.

So, what do I know? I know how to make a paper boat. I learned how to do this in metalwork class when I was at school. Knowing how to make a paper boat is important to me because I think it might be the only thing that I know enough about to say that I know it.

Sorry.

Things I think people think I know and why I think they think I know them*:

  • Where to find information. People outside of work ask me about this because I work in a library, which is fair enough, really.
  • Good books to read. Again, I think people assume that because I’m a librarian I will automatically know all the best books to read.  I have a horrible feeling this is because some people still think that librarians just sit around reading books all day.
  • Christianity. Because I’m a Christian. And also because I studied theology. I know far, far less about Christianity than people think I do, or indeed than I should.
  • Judaism. I studied Judaism for bits of my degree and did a postgraduate degree in Jewish-Christian relations so I suppose thinking I know about Judaism would be a fair assumption. However, it would be the height of arrogance to say that I know Judaism, especially as I’m not Jewish!
  • My own medical conditions. Perhaps I really should know the ins and outs of what exactly is/was wrong with me, but actually I can’t tell you every detail of my medical history. Some people seem to be surprised by this.
  • Everything. Sometimes, in the Library of Doom, I get the feeling that some people** think that I really do (or at least should) know everything. Well, I don’t. I don’t know where X is, or when you’re supposed to be on the desk, or when the Line Manager is going to be back from tea break, or how many biscuits there are left, or what the weather’s going to be tomorrow, or how many books we’ve withdrawn today, or why your fine hasn’t been paid when you thought it had, or where the book boxes are, or when your inter-library loan will arrive, or why the book’s not on the shelf when it should be, or whether the book box has been emptied or why the till is wrong, or what colour your desk will be in the new building or anything. That’s right, I really don’t know anything. Yes, really. Now please let me go and have my break. I don’t know why people at the Library of Doom think I know everything.

____________________________

*My evidence for this is that people ask me questions about these things on a regular basis. Some of  these things are things I do know something about, but not enough to say that I’m a master at any of them, hence not choosing to write about them for this post.

**No one associated with the Library of Doom who might read this blog, I hasten to add.

