The audience in my head

(Blogging challenge: Describe your blogging audience)

Hmm, well, this is the next of Lorelle’s challenges that I think I should, in theory, be able to do. I could just describe the people I know in real life who read my blog, but they might not like that, and I’m not sure that all of them still read it! Apart from the people I know in real life, there are some people I know from elsewhere on the internet who pop by here occasionally, and then there are the people who find my blog when looking for information on “giraffe sounds” or “rota change giraffe” (!).

So, there are people who read my blog on purpose and those who read it by accident. However, Lorelle wasn’t asking about who reads my blog, but about who I have in mind when I’m writing my blog. Who am I writing for?

 Well, anyone who would like to read it, really! However, I suppose I often have a particular audience in my head when I’m writing. This audience is made up of people I know, either in real life or via the Internet, who read my blog. I also think about my potential audience - my family and friends, my colleagues, my line manager, people from my church, my neighbours, anyone who knows me - who don’t read my blog (as far as I know!) but could potentially do so.

Bearing all these people in mind makes me think about what I write because (a) I don’t want to upset people I know and (b) I don’t want people I know to think badly of me. We’ve been here before, haven’t we? It also means that (c) this blog is a lot less full of rubbish than it would be if I didn’t think about who might read it!

I should add that it’s not that I don’t care about the opinions of people who don’t know me in real life, who, of course, are also part of my potential audience. It’s more that the consequences of upsetting someone I have any sort of relationship with are likely to be a lot worse than upsetting someone who’s randomly come across my blog while surfing the net.

Sometimes I have a more specific audience in mind when writing particular posts. If I’m writing about my heart, for example, I might think about people who might be looking for information on congenital heart defects, so I’ll try and link to websites that could be useful to them. On other occasions I might write a post with one specific person in mind, either because they asked me to post something or because something they said or did triggered the idea for the post in the first place.

I probably make a lot of assumptions about my audience when writing my posts. I expect my audience to understand cultural references and be able to empathise to a certain extent with most of the situations I write about. I’m writing with a particular world view, from a particular background and about particular things, so I suspect that the audience in my head is also made up of people a lot like me, even only on a subconscious level. Or should that be a sub-subconscious level?

This is all getting rather confusing, what with the sub-subconscious level and all these real/potential/imaginary audience members wandering about in my head. It’s also getting rather late. I think I need to go to bed.

Dear reader, whoever you are, thank you for reading this blog.

One thought on “The audience in my head

  1. Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language ;)
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

Leave a reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 220 other followers

