How do I blog thee, let me count the ways…

No, perhaps that doesn’t quite work. The next of Lorelle’s blog challenges that I’m going to attempt is to write about how I blog. I don’t think this is going to be a very long post as I don’t blog in very many different ways at all!

Usually, I just sit down and start typing. Well, there is more to it than that, I suppose. I use a laptop which lives on the kitchen table, which doubles as a desk. On the desk, there is a pot plant that my grandma gave to me, a printer, a letter rack, a pile of papers and a pile of books. There are also various bits of paper and a big notebook, a hole punch and a stapler on top of the printer. The paper for the printer is kept on a dining chair.

My laptop is nice (well, I think so), although I think I did something funny when I set up the internet software so it insists on trying to make me log in to the dial-up connection about five times before I can log into the broadband. It’s a bit odd.

Once I’ve logged in, well, I go into Internet Explorer and to my homepage, which is the BBC website, because I find it comforting. Then, I go to WordPress and log in. I usually check my “Blog Surfer” to see if anyone has written anything new and I must admit that I often look at my blog stats! If anyone has left a comment I will have a look at that and write a reply if appropriate, before I eventually choose “New Post” and start to type.

Sometimes, I will have written a few notes beforehand and planned my post that way, but more often than not the only plan I have will still be in my head. Sometimes (like today), I don’t have a plan at all. Today, I knew I had to write a post because of participating in NaBloPoMo and I couldn’t think of anything to write about so I had a look Lorelle’s challenges and chose one I thought I could do. So, I’m afraid I’m making this up as I go along.

I usually blog in the evenings, especially on weekdays, as I work full-time, Monday to Friday. At weekends I might blog during the day, if I’m not busy doing other things. During NaBloPoMo this year I’ve been trying to write extra posts at the weekend to save me writing them on weeknights, but I haven’t managed that this weekend. I very rarely blog at work and then only during my lunch hour or break times (of course!). Usually any blogging at work will only involve making notes or changes to an existing post, rather than starting a new one. I think I’ve only once written a whole post during my lunch hour.

It can, quite often, take me a ridiculously long time to write a blog post. I usually write them in one sitting, but this sitting can be a stupid number of hours long, especially if I start them earlier on in the day. The advantage of starting them in the evening, although it might not be ideal due to factors such as tiredness, is that I have to stop writing within reasonable amount of time if I want to have a decent amount of sleep! This curtailment on my blogging is particularly effective on weeknights, when I have to go to work the next day.

I don’t know exactly why it can take me so long to write a post. I suppose it depends how much thought is required and how important the subject is to me. As a general rule, the more frivolous I think the subject matter is the shorter the time it takes, although I still find myself reading and re-reading what I’ve written far too many times, whatever I’m writing about.

Most of my posts are just made up of words. I have been known to write the occasional (bad) poem, but, as you will see, the majority of my posts are in prose. I sometimes add photographs to my posts, indeed, photographs are sometimes the subject of a post in themselves. Now and then I add other types of  illustration, but not very often. I embedded a YouTube clip for the first time last week, which was quite exciting.

I think that’s about all I can say about my blogging habits. If I ever get a decent enough mobile phone I think I’d probably be tempted to write blog posts during my commute to and from work, but for now I will stick to using my trusty laptop in the familiar surrounds of my kitchen.

Leave a reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 221 other followers

