Yesterday, I…

got up and went to work. I read The Magician’s Nephew on the train. When I got to work, I made my porridge and ate it.  In the morning I didn’t really get very much done. I sorted out a couple of problem books – one had the wrong classmark and one didn’t have a barcode, or something like that, and catalogued a DVD of Lagaan (which was nominated for the Oscar for Best Foreign Language Film in 2002). The remainder of my morning was spent on the library point or minding the theology library and getting to the theology library. It was a bit frustrating.

At lunch time, I bought a new bag. It’s purple. I must stop buying unnecessary things.

After lunch, I opened the periodicals, checked them in and shelved them, then made some stickers for periodicals boxes in need of stickers and stuck said stickers on said boxes. I went on the library point again, then I went home.

We had pork rice for tea. After tea, I wrote a blog post, then watched Wonders of the Universe. It was most excellent. Beautifully filmed and absolutely fascinating. I wish I could remember more of it, but I tended to get carried away looking at the amazing beauty of space or of our own planet, and not really listening properly to what Professor Cox was saying. I might watch that episode again before I move on to the next one. The wonders of the iPlayer.

Hmm. Writing about what I did yesterday seemed like a good idea at the time, but it has actually turned out to be much more boring than I expected.

6 thoughts on “Yesterday, I…

  1. I enjoyed watching Wonders of the Universe yesterday as well. I think Prof Brian Cox is a good presenter, very natural in front of the camera. It is like he is explaining things to a friend or his Mum and Dad. Also I have a soft spot for his Lancashire accent because I spent some of my childhood in Lancashire and some of my relations live there.

    I have always liked the idea (since I found out) that nothing is lost, it is just recycled and that we are part of the universe, children of the stars.

    It is kind of staggering to think that we are alive and conscious right here, right now. It makes me feel as though I should be using my precious and very short life to do something amazing. The problem is I haven’t figured out what to do. I’ll think about it today whilst I am cleaning the kitchen!

    • I know what you mean about trying to do something with our short lives – but like you, I find it hard to know what I should be doing, so I tend to ‘just’ plod on and hope for the best. I think it’s OK to do this – not everyone can do spectacular things – and it’s just as, if not more, important to be grateful for each ‘ordinary’ day and take time to notice things, appreciate the gifts we’ve been given (including the wonders of nature and the universe) and be kind to other people. Well, that’s my opinion anyway! And of course it’s easier said than done…

  2. It’s amazing how much we are able to abide with and enjoy even a boring day. In fact, after watching the awful sorrows in Japan and praying for them, I find myself thanking God constantly for boring days. I hope for another quiet and ordinary day today. Blessings to you, Lilian…

  3. I didn’t find this boring in the least, Lilian. I liked hearing about your day — your library life, the fact that you had “tea,” when you got home (it sounds so cozy), and that you watch but don’t always listen, which seems like a very astute moment of self-observation. I think you should do this more often!

Leave a reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 221 other followers

