A recipe for Easy Bun Loaf

My brain still isn’t quite in gear, so here is a post I didn’t have to think about too much: my grandma’s recipe for Easy Bun Loaf. It really is easy (even I have made it with no disasters) so I hope that someone out there will try making it and enjoy eating it as well.

Ingredients

  • 4 oz currants and 4 oz sultanas, soaked overnight in a mug of cold tea (without milk!)
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tablespoons of marmalade
  • 4 oz of brown sugar
  • 8 oz of self-raising flour

Method

  1. Beat the egg and marmalade together
  2. Add the fruit (and the tea), sugar and flour and mix everything together
  3. Put the mixture into a greased loaf tin
  4. Cook in the oven at for 90 minutes at 150°C

That’s it!

Author: Lilian

Librarian who likes music, cataloguing, theology, gardening, crochet, ampersands, taking photos, baking & tea. Has CHD & pacemaker.

17 thoughts on “A recipe for Easy Bun Loaf”

  1. sounds soooooooo good!!!!

    Just out of curiosity….Do you know where I can purchase good quality foods online? I am now trying to order from online stores only because of various reasons…….can you help me with any suggestions??????

    There is only one place, out of all that I have tried that really stood out for true quailty, and that is Celebrityfoods.

    If you can help me grow my list of quality services or stores, where I can buy my food, I would greatly appreciate it.

    Thank you!

  2. Hi
    sounds good but don,t know about soaking the fruit overnight in cold tea though.
    Many years ago i was given a method off a trex packet can,t find it anywhere so I will have a go at this recipe I will let you know the end result.
    Many thanks
    Alan

    1. Have done this method hundreds of times but when I soak it over night add brandy aswell , this keeps it nice , and for a while in a tin .Used to make loads for presents , but had to stop got so many orders of family got so expensive .ENJOY

  3. Hi Lillian

    I have been looking for a recipe for bun loaf so I will now have a go at this one. Will let you know what I think.

    Cathy

  4. Hi Lillian

    I was looking for a recipe for Bun Loaf, when i came across this one of yours.
    Just wanted to let you know that i have made this twice now and it is absolutely delicious.

    Thank you for posting this recipe, and allowing us to share it.

    Ellie

Leave a reply

