Pre-operation thing

Today I went for my pre-operation appointment at the hospital. I talked to one of the…

And that was as far as I got with this blog post last night. Everytime I try and sit down and write about anything to do with the operation I just have a complete mental block. The thoughts and ideas are there, but I can’t get them down on paper (or on screen, as the case maybe). It’s frustrating, because I think it might help me to share things with the wider world, and, who knows, I might be of assistance to someone else going through a similar experience.

Later…

I want to write about how I feel, but I don’t seem to be able to at the moment, so here is a quick, facts-only, summary of how I got on yesterday.

The appointment was actually very helpful. The nurse talked me through what is going to happen when I come into hospital, before the operation and afterwards. She didn’t make me feel any better, but then I didn’t really expect her to. She was very straight with us (Mr C came with me) and didn’t sugar-coat anything, which I appreciated. Basically, it’s going to be horrible and I probably won’t feel any benefit for about six months. Recovery from the operation will be sooner than this (I hope) – about two months, but for me to feel better than I do today will take longer. I got upset about everything. Apparently it is perfectly normal for people to get upset about having surgery. I don’t know why I was surprised by this! The nurse also said that I don’t have to try and be positive, because that would be an unrealistic expectation to have of myself. It was quite a relief to hear this, because I am not inclined to think positively at the best of times, and certainly not at the moment. She admitted that people only tell other people to think positively because they want to make themselves feel better, which I thought was very honest of her!

That’s about all there is to tell, without going into too much detail. I had a blood test, which was not very good because my blood didn’t want to come out – very unhelpful of it. Also had a couple of X-rays, which were fine – one procedure I’m not scared of!

Author: Lilian

Librarian who likes music, cataloguing, theology, gardening, crochet, ampersands, taking photos, baking & tea. Has CHD & pacemaker.

7 thoughts on “Pre-operation thing”

Leave a reply

