Voices

Following the success of the annual National Blog Posting Month, Eden, the organiser of this delightful thing, has decided to make every month a blog posting month, and I, in my madness, have decided to attempt to write a blog post every day in May. To give people some help, or possibly make things more difficult, Eden has suggested a theme to be blogged about each month. The theme for May is “voices”. Hmm, could be tricky. I will attempt to blog on the theme but I’m not promising anything. I don’t think I should really even promise to write a post every day, so I won’t.

Even today, on the first day of the month, I am already not sticking to the theme, because I’m cheating by writing about writing about the theme rather than really writing something about voices. Having thought about voices I have written a surprisingly long list of ideas for blog posts, but I suspect that only a few of them will ever actually see the light of day, for want of a better, more internet-related, cliché.

There are eleven definitions of the noun “voice” (voices) in the lovely online Encarta Dictionary. There are more, and more detailed ones, in the Oxford English Dictionary, but you may not be able to access this unless you’re in a public library (in the UK) or somewhere else where they subscribe to the online version.

I do have something voice-related to write about today, and that is to say that, since I had the operation, I haven’t been able to sing like I could before. I discovered this on my first visit to church and it was rather perturbing. I hadn’t really thought about lack of voice as a possible side-effect. I realise that I have never been able to sing well or even ‘properly’ – I never could get the breathing right, despite being able to breathe sufficiently well when playing the flute, which is slightly odd. In the past few weeks I have only been able to sing things an octave too low, which is a problem when the tune goes too low for me to sing at all and it probably isn’t very nice for the people sitting around me in church to hear me growling away. I was pleased to be able to manage a few lines in the right octave on Sunday, but it was very tiring and I ended up having to sit down for more of the service than I would have liked.

I suppose it’s not really surprising, because singing takes a lot of breath, and more importantly breath control, which I don’t have at the moment. Also, I think my diaphragm needs to recover a bit more before I’ll be able to be an alto/middling/soprano again, as opposed to the (very dodgy) tenor I currently seem to be!

I asked the physiotherapist about playing my flute and she said that I could try it in about six weeks from the time I spoke to her, which was about four or five weeks ago, so maybe in a couple of weeks I’ll try playing again and perhaps by that time I’ll be able to sing in the correct octave more, if not all, of the time.

2 thoughts on “Voices

  1. I agree with The Singing Librarian — not being able to sing as you’d want is naff. It’s the muscles that are the problem and the surgeons rather did for yours in doing the heart repair. Fortunately muscles do recover in time so just take it easy and don’t worry — I’ve been singing tenor for years except when I was in a choir and “ladies don’t sing tenor” was the conductor’s maxim so I had to sing alto and leave out the high notes!

Leave a reply

