Birdsong

At the moment the lovely people at the BBC are encouraging people to listen to the dawn chorus. I usually wake up (although I don’t usually get up) when the dawn chorus is in full swing, just as it’s getting light.  I find the birdsong comforting and relaxing and it’s definitely among my favourite sounds. It’s the sound of newness, hope, and continuation; the sound of nature carrying on as usual despite whatever might be happening in the world or to me.

When I was in hospital I could hear the birds sing through the open window, despite being in the middle of London. I was fortunate enough to be in the intensive care ward facing the beautiful church and the pretty, tree-lined park that are on the road opposite the hospital building. Looking at the trees and hearing the birds sing were a great solace to me during my stay in hospital. The trees and the birds represented the outside, normal, everyday world that was carrying on just as usual. My small world inside the hospital ward and inside my head might have been strange and, at times, horrible, but nature was just as it always had been and I looked forward to the day when I would be out there in it again.

I spent most of today in the garden, planting out some more tomatoes into pots and then, later, reading. I listened to the birds singing and cooing (pigeons) and cawing (crows and magpies) and I was grateful for these birds and their song, and for the fact that I was outside, amongst the living things of nature which are such a pleasure and a comfort to me.

P.S. If anyone who knows me in real life would like a tomato plant or two please let me know!

Author: Lilian

Librarian who likes music, cataloguing, theology, gardening, crochet, ampersands, taking photos, baking & tea. Has CHD & pacemaker.

Leave a reply

