A visit to the Library of Doom (and the doctor)

Today I’ve had an adventurous day, well, for me anyway. I went into the Library of Doom to test out whether or not I could walk from the railway station to the library without falling over. Not literally, but you know what I mean (I hope). Happily, I managed to get from the station to work in about 20 minutes, including time taken to buy doughnuts, so I think that was alright. It was quite tiring on the way there, but better on the way back, for some reason. Maybe this was due to the fortifying tea and doughnut I consumed whilst at work. Surely eating a doughnut and drinking tea (or eating and drinking something you like) is the only decent way to spend time at work? Maybe not. Actually doing some work is probably better, but only just, and only if you have break time during which you can legitimately eat doughnuts and drink tea/beverage of choice.

I was quite apprehensive about going into work after so long away from the place. I don’t really know why. I think part of me was a bit worried that I might get dragged into some bad work-related thing, part of me was worried that I would disturb everyone (which I probably did) and I wasn’t really sure what I would say to people. Of course, in the event it was alright. People were nice and smiley when I arrived, which is probably a good sign. I went to tea with some people and then drank some more tea and ate the aforementioned doughnut in the Reader Services office. It was good to see my friends/colleagues again. I’ve missed them.

I had to restrain myself from asking about work in too much detail. I am actually quite keen to know what has been going on while I’ve been away, and obviously I also need to know, whether I want to or not, but I didn’t feel that today was the right time to ask. People were very busy and explaining two months’ worth of Adventures in the Library of Doom would probably not have been a good use of their time.  Also, there was a part of me that didn’t really want to know too much, because I wouldn’t be able to do anything about it anyway. Then, on the train home I worried that I hadn’t asked enough about how things were going in the office. I felt a bit like I’d breezed gaily in, seen them all with piles of stuff on desks, etc, knowing full-well that they’re all ridiculously overworked and breezed out again without really showing much concern for their welfare. I have to keep remembering that I’m off sick and not off work for the fun of it.

My other ‘adventure’ of the day was going to see the doctor about my strange pins and needles. She didn’t know what could be causing it, but she has sent me for another blood test (eek) on Tuesday to test for Vitamin B12 deficiency and anaemia. I had been wondering whether it could be due to a lack of Vitamin B12 – I looked it up on the Internet (!), so maybe that is the case. Or maybe it’s just an inexplicable thing, or something worse. The doctor said to go back and see her if it doesn’t go away, so I’ll see what happens.

Author: Lilian

Librarian who likes music, cataloguing, theology, gardening, crochet, ampersands, taking photos, baking & tea. Has CHD & pacemaker.

2 thoughts on “A visit to the Library of Doom (and the doctor)”

  1. I hope it’s only the B12 thing too. Actually, I was slightly anaemic last year and the symptoms were horrible (although no pins and needles, I have to say). Sometimes I get pins and needles if I sleep funny and my shoulders get cricked out of joint (Helen’s technical way of talking). I hope yours go away soon!!

Leave a reply

