My uncertain selection of Desert Island Discs

Sarah copied Ben and I’m copying Sarah. Please feel free to copy me in any way you feel you would like to. The easiest ways to be like me are to waffle nonsense, be socially inept on a regular basis, whinge a lot, be indecisive and watch too much TV.

Anyway, I’m going to stick to the Desert Island Discs rules and only choose eight songs. So there. In no particular order:

  1. Last Goodbye: Jeff Buckley
    This song is quite possibly the most potentially cathartic song I’ve ever heard. Good for attempting to cope with anger, sadness, self-pity and other nasty things. Favourite lyric: “Kiss me out of desire, baby, not consolation”. Ideal volume: As loud as possible, while still being considerate to others. If you’re on a desert island that probably won’t be a problem, unless there are any timid animals around.
  2. Someone To Fall Back On: Jason Robert Brown
    My kind of love song, if that’s what it is. You can listen to it on Mr Brown’s website if you want to. Favourite lyric: Every line. Ideal volume: Quiet to moderate.
  3. All I Want For Christmas Is You: Mariah Carey
    I might be on the desert island at Christmas, you never know. Great for singing along to, cheerful (sort of), silly and fun. The best non-religious Christmas song ever. Favourite lyric: Erm…”I don’t want a lot for Christmas, there is just one thing I need, I don’t care about the presents underneath the Christmas tree…” Ideal volume: Loud enough to drown out my singing.
  4. You’re The Top: Cole Porter
    I could pass time on the island by trying to learn all the words. Funny, clever and Porter-ish. Favourite lyric: Oh, how can I possibly choose? I like the introductory bit quite a lot: “At words poetic I’m so pathetic…” etc. Ideal volume: At sufficient volume to be able to hear every word.
  5. Somewhere: Music by Leonard Bernstein, lyrics by Stephen Sondheim
    I would like to have chosen the whole of West Side Story, but I didn’t think that would be allowed. Favourite lyric: “Hold my hand and we’re halfway there”. Ideal volume: Not ridiculously loud.
  6. Hark the Herald Angels Sing: Charles Wesley. As performed by Revelation Rock-Gospel Choir(s).
    Not my very favourite carol (although it is one of them), but I just love this arrangement. The harmonies are, as someone younger and trendier than me might say, “lush”. I also love the fact that someone coughs just in the wrong place on the recording. Favourite lyric: “Hail the heaven-born Prince of Peace, Hail the Son of Righteousness, Light and life to all He brings, Risen with healing in His wings…” Ideal volume: Nice and joyously loud.
  7. All The Things You Are: Music by Jerome Kern, lyrics by Oscar Hammerstein II
    Because it is one of the most beautiful songs in the English language. Favourite lyrics: “You are the promised kiss of springtime that makes the lonely winter seem long, You are the breathless hush of evening that trembles on the brink of a lovely song…” And the rest. Ideal volume: Moderate.
  8. Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots: Pt. 1: The Flaming Lips
    A very odd and quite silly song, with happy memories attached to it. Favourite lyrics: “Oh, Yoshimi, they don’t believe me, but you won’t let those robots eat me…” Ideal volume: This ideal volume thing is a bit daft, isn’t it? I don’t know why I started it. I don’t think the favourite lyrics thing was a particularly brilliant plan either, but it’s too late now.

So, there you have it. A list of songs. They’re not necessarily my all-time favourite songs, because I don’t think I would ever be able to decide upon those, but they’re songs that I think would help if I was ever stuck on a desert island, and they are all (in my opinion) very good indeed. Yes, even All I Want For Christmas Is You is good in its own way. There are many other songs I could add to the list, but I said I would stick to eight songs so I have.

3 thoughts on “My uncertain selection of Desert Island Discs

  1. I can agree with most of those, but ‘All I Want For Christmas Is You’? Hmm. It takes all sorts… And I have a secret love for plenty of songs that are far cheesier (Careless Whisper, for instance), so I can’t really criticise. The Flaming Lips song is great – annoyingly catchy, wonderfully quirky.

  2. ‘You’re the Top’ is a fine choice. Was fab seeing John Barrowman and Sally Ann Triplett sing it on stage (I was in the front row – sigh). I really don’t know most of the others. What different musical worlds we inhabit. : )

  3. I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you down the road!

Leave a reply

