Dr. Giancarlo Rastelli

Recently, I’ve been trying to find out more about the man who developed the Rastelli procedure, the operation I had (twice – once in 1982 and once in 2008)  to correct my congenital heart defect. I don’t know what I was expecting to find out, but I did not expect to be so moved by the story of the man without whose research, knowledge and dedication I would almost certainly not be here today.

Giancarlo Rastelli was born in Italy in 1933 and died in the U.S. at the age of only 36. During his too short life he worked tirelessly to develop surgical techniques and to care for his patients above and  beyond his ‘call of duty’. Other people have written about Dr. Rastelli  much better than I could, so if you would like to find out more about him there are informative articles on, for example, the Mayo Clinic’s site (he worked at the Mayo for much of his career) and at MercatorNet.

From what I have read, Giancarlo Rastelli was a man of great skill and knowledge, but,  just as  importantly,  he was also a man of great compassion and love.

5 thoughts on “Dr. Giancarlo Rastelli

  1. For some reason we expect greatness in a person to be well known throughout the world, to be publicized by the news media, novelized, turned into motion pictures, and recorded in history books. When we find such greatness quietly abiding, waiting for someone to dig up the information, we are shocked. Thanks for sharing what you found out about Giancarlo Rastelli.

  2. i found a wonderful article on doctor rastelli’s life on an italian website. let me know if you want it translated; i am an italian native speaker and a physician too . it’s quite amazing and apparently his daughter, antonella rastelli, is a physician who followed in her father’s successful footsteps. she is an assitant professor of internal medicine at washington university. his spirit lives on ………

    1. Hi Mina,

      I would like to read the article if you wouldn’t mind translating it and emailing it to me, otherwise just send me the web address and perhaps I can find some software to translate it with. Glad to hear that Dr Rastelli’s daughter has followed in her father’s footsteps. Thanks for the information, it’s nice to find out a bit more about him.

Leave a reply

