Recipe: Wheat-free chocolate cupcakes

I’m not sure that my attempt at making these has been entirely successful. They taste lovely and chocolatey, but they are so light that they collapse very easily. I used a recipe that is for a large ‘Death by Chocolate’  cake, and just put the mixture in cup cake cases instead of one big cake tin. The recipe would be fine as it’s intended (as a large cake), because the meringuey top surface area would be balanced out by  a larger underneath cakey bit  so the cake as a whole would probably be more structurally sound [sorry I’m not explaining this very well] but as cupcakes the ratio between the underneath cakey bit and the top meringuey bit is more unbalanced and the cake is more likely to fall to bits. Anyway, that’s enough physics for today.

Now, where was I. Oh, yes. Chocolate. I took the recipe from the Great Book of British Baking, which is a most excellent book. The recipe (as I did it, not as in the book, which is a bit different, mainly because you have to cook a bigger cake for longer) is as follows:

Ingredients (makes 24 cupcakes)

For the cake:

5 medium sized free range eggs
100g caster sugar
300g dark chocolate

For the topping:

100g dark chocolate
100 ml double cream

Method

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 180°C.
  2. Melt 300g of the chocolate in a bowl. Leave to cool while you…
  3. Break the eggs into a bowl and beat with an electric mixer for few seconds.
  4. Add the sugar, then whisk until very thick and almost mousse-like. This should take about five minutes according to the recipe, but it took me about ten and was rather tiring!

    Mixed egg and sugar
    The egg and sugar mixture before the addition of the chocolate.
  5. Pour the melted chocolate into the egg and sugar mixture. Fold it in carefully.
  6. Put the mixture into cupcake cases and put in oven for 25 minutes.
  7. Remove the cakes from the oven and leave to cool.

    Cakes without topping
    Cakes without the topping. You can see the surface of the cake is quite brittle and meringue-like.

For the topping

  1. Melt the chocolate and cream together in a bowl.
  2. Spoon the melted chocolate and cream mixture over the cakes.
  3. Leave to cool and set, preferably overnight.

    Cakes with topping
    The finished cakes

As you can see, it’s quite an easy recipe, and also good if you want to make cakes for someone who can’t eat wheat, due to the lack of flour.

Author: Lilian

Librarian who likes music, cataloguing, theology, gardening, crochet, ampersands, taking photos, baking & tea. Has CHD & pacemaker.

3 thoughts on “Recipe: Wheat-free chocolate cupcakes”

  1. They look yummy, very chocolatey 🙂 It seems funny making cakes without flour and butter.

    I use this recipe for cup cakes: (actually it looks like they have changed it slightly, but I think only the topping)

    http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/fairycakes_83889

    I don’t put anywhere near as many chocolate buttons as they do on the top though!

    I always used to make fairy cakes by beating the butter and sugar together first, then adding the eggs and folding in the flour. So I was surprised that in this recipe you whisk together the eggs and sugar first (like in your recipe) before folding in the flour and melted butter.

    I was a bit worried that it was going to turn out wrong as it looked a bit ‘curdled’ but it turned out beautifully well risen. Which was just as well because I make them for a cake sale.

    My cooker has two ovens (both electric), a fan oven and a non-fan one and I nearly always use the fan oven. But for a period of time my fan oven broke down and I used the other one instead. I found that the non-fan oven didn’t give good results at all – both time I made the cupcakes they looked a bit flat. I didn’t realise that the type of oven would make such a big difference as I used exactly the same recipe.

    I am trying not to eat cakes at the moment because I have put on a few pounds since Christmas 😦

    1. Those cakes look nice, thanks for pointing out the recipe! You could still make cakes (if you feel like it) and then give them away if you don’t want to eat them yourself.

Leave a reply

