Chocolate mug cakes

Yesterday, we had some people round for lunch and, as we had no pudding in the house, I made some cakes in mugs. One of my friends showed me how to do this ages ago, but I’d forgotten the recipe, so I had to look it up online. There are several versions but I used this one from She’s in the Kitchen. N.B. You need to use self-raising flour, or add baking powder.

It turned out quite well, although rather stodgy,  and we found that we only needed one cake between two people.

Tonight, I decided to see if I could improve the mixture a bit, as I’m sure the recipe my friend showed me was much lighter, so I did some experimenting. First of all, I left the eggs out and halved the amount of the other ingredients, so the cakes didn’t turn out so big and it did taste a bit better than yesterday’s and was of a slightly lighter texture – but the improvements could just have been due to the addition of more chocolate! Anyway, here is my amended version of the recipe, take 1:

Put:

  • 2 tbsp self raising flour
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
in a mug and  mix well. Add:
  • 1.5 tbsp milk
  • 1.5 tbsp chocolate chips
  • 1 tbsp oil
  • 1 pinch baking powder
and mix very thoroughly. Microwave for 1.5 minutes on full power.
Here is how mine turned out:
Cake in a mug 1
Cake in its mug
Cake in a mug 1.1
Cake in its dish

It turned out quite nicely and tasted very chocolatey, but I still couldn’t finish a whole cake, so there is some left for Mr C to eat when he gets back.

My second attempt at experimentation was not so successful. I decided to try the same recipe again, but put the egg back in and leave the flour out. It sort of worked…

Cake in mug 2.1
Cake version 2 in mug
Mug cake 2.2
Cake version 2 on plate

It looks alright, but it tasted a bit eggy, and was a bit eggy in texture as well. Perhaps not one to try again.

4 thoughts on “Chocolate mug cakes

  1. Two things I have learned from this post: 1. More chocolate is always a good thing and 2. I need to be braver about experimenting. Good for you for knowing both already! xoxo

  2. It’s interesting that it tasted better without the eggs. Great idea for a quick pudding when you have visitors. Looks yummy 🙂

Leave a reply

