I am the Messenger

 I finished reading I am the Messenger yesterday. As it’s by the author of The Book Thief, one of my favourite books, I’d been wanting to read it for a long time. When we were on holiday at my parents’ house I was fortunate enough to find a copy of it in their local Oxfam bookshop, so I bought it.

I was a bit worried I might be disappointed by I am the Messenger after enjoying The Book Thief so much, but I needn’t have worried. I really liked it. It’s an intriguing, thought-provoking, artfully written book that deals beautifully with the intricacies of being human.

Zusak doesn’t shy away from the grim realities of life in the poor side of a one-horse town, and the book is often very dark in tone and content, but, ultimately, the overarching themes of hope, love, and the possibility of redemption make I am the Messenger an uplifting and life-affirming read.

One thought on “I am the Messenger

Leave a reply

