Writing and reading

I feel like I’ve been doing a lot of writing recently. Not here on this blog, although I’m trying to do that too (it’s not going so well – I wrote a whole, slow, post about Iron Man yesterday but I don’t think it will ever see the light of day), but in various other places. Firstly, I have become a ghostwriter. I had to an article for someone else, as if it was them writing it, and under their direction. It was a bit weird, and tested my control freak-ness somewhat. I had lots of information to use, and there were some specific things they wanted me to include, but we had quite a small word limit so it was tricky to write it in a way they were happy with and keep to the word limit. It was hard to write it the way the person I was writing for wanted it and not the way I wanted to write it!

Secondly, I’ve been writing an evaluation report at work. It seemed like a bit of a slog, even though it got written fairly quickly. I think it was just a bit of a struggle because I hadn’t written an evaluation report before, and hadn’t written anything so lengthy for a while. I enjoyed writing it, although I’m quite glad it’s finished…well, it’s finished unless anyone  tells me there are changes they want me to make!

I’ve also been doing more proof reading than usual. I had some articles to proof read for the Somerville Foundation, and around the same time a friend of my mum’s sent some more proof reading me way, in the shape of  the booklet/book she had been writing It  was quite long (17,000 words), but, fortunately, also very interesting!

For leisure purposes, I’ve been reading The Finkler Question, by Howard Jacobson, which is supposed to be a comic novel, but I found it rather depressing (apart from one sentence and I can’t remember now what that sentence said). I also read Sunday the Rabbi Stayed Home, one installment of Harry Kemelman’s Rabbi Small mysteries; a series I’d never heard of before. Not quite sure how I missed it since I’m a fan of mystery stories and interested in Judaism! Although the book feels slightly dated now (it was written and is set in the 1960s) and occasionally displays an interesting lack of political correctness, I enjoyed it overall.

2 thoughts on “Writing and reading

  1. It must be quite interesting and challenging being a ghostwriter and trying to write in someone else’s style. I suppose you just have to read a bit of their writing and try to carry on with it.

    I once did a short creative writing course and one of the assignments we were set was to write from the point of view of a child. I found that quite easy but that might be because my writing style is not very sophisticated to begin with!

    I have just finished reading a book you might like called ‘Rome and Jerusalem: The Clash of Ancient Civilisations’ by Martin Goodman. It took me quite a long time to read because it contains so much information but it was well worth it.

Leave a reply

