The mystery of Anna Charlier’s piano music

I wrote this post for my other blog, but I thought it might be of interest to people who read this blog as well.

Lilian's library life

I found one of Anna Charlier’s music scores last year when I was cataloguing a whole collection of scores that had been donated by the music department. On Friday, discovered another one, which must have been in the library a  long time judging from its barcode and the state of its catalogue record – I found it when I was checking for records that needed tidying up.

But, you may well ask, who is Anna Charlier and why do we have some of her piano scores? Anna Charlier was most famous for being the fiancee of Nils Strindberg, a Swedish photographer who was part of an ill-fated hot-air balloon expedition to try to reach the North Pole in 1897. According to Wikipedia (which I know isn’t always the best source, but it has the most information about Anna I could find at the moment) Anna played the piano and…

View original post 116 more words

2 thoughts on “The mystery of Anna Charlier’s piano music

  1. That is a sad and moving story. I wonder how the scores ended up in your collection – it would be interesting to find out.

Leave a reply

