A bear called Christopher

I’ve now finished the bear I was making. He was quite fiddly to make (for me, as I’m used to doing straightforward things like scarves), but I got there in the end. He has a bit of scoliosis and one leg shorter than the other due to my bad sewing skills (the second leg was better), and there was nearly a disaster at the end when his trousers wouldn’t  fit and I had to cut the middle seam, but I managed to fit them on him and sew them up afterwards.

The pattern is ‘Christopher and Rosie’ (I only made Christopher) from The Knitted Teddy Bear, by Sandra Polley. I made him for my dad, as not only do they share a name but Christopher’s overalls are very like the ones my dad used to wear in his workshop (AKA the garage) when I was a child.

He's a bit ragged round the edges, but hopefully my dad will like him anyway.
He’s a bit ragged round the edges, but hopefully my dad will like him anyway.

I’m back on the scarves now!

4 thoughts on “A bear called Christopher

Leave a reply

