Sunshine & Showers

cowl

This cowl was really easy and quick to make – the pattern is Garter Gaiter, by Purl Soho. I made it as a Christmas present for my brother-in-law’s fiancee. She lives in Glasgow, which can be quite a cold and grey place (that might be an understatement!) and her favourite colour is yellow. I called this version Sunshine & Showers for obvious reasons!

018

I used 1 skein each of Rowan Big Wool, which is probably the nicest yarn I’ve ever knitted with. It’s on the expensive side (for me), but I had a voucher for an online yarn shop from my mother-in-law for my last birthday so I spent it on stuff I would never usually buy! Now I know how nice it is I might be tempted to buy it again, though, despite the cost. My needles were 9mm, 60cm circulars, rather than 40cm, so I cast on 80 stitches instead of 60, but it turned out OK.

017

The cowl looks nicer on a person than on a hanger, but I don’t like appearing in photos and it’s not really Mr C’s style!

3 thoughts on “Sunshine & Showers

  1. That looks great. I can imagine you’ll be making quite a few of those for presents in future (in various different colours) as it sounds as if they are nice and quick to make. I like the name sunshine and showers. Certainly apt for the weather we are experiencing at the moment šŸ™‚

      1. Yes, that could be a problem :). Maybe you could try your hand at knitted Christmas tree decorations (I have a Snowman and a Father Christmas which I bought at a school fair). Something like that would make a very nice Christmas present.

Leave a reply

