Recently

  • I’ve been going to lots of hospital appointments, mainly pregnancy-related (I’m having extra check-ups and scans because of my heart condition), but also the usual regular pacemaker checks and appointments with the cardiologist. I passed my MOT today.
  • The garden is a mess. I haven’t done anything with it for months, and Mr C is not the world’s keenest gardener. We may have to enlist the help of gardening friends.
  • I’m knitting a baby blanket (for someone else), which is taking quite a long time because it’s a lace pattern and I’m a slow knitter. Only 2 more pattern repeats to go!
  • The raspberry plants are still producing edible fruit, even though it’s now December! They are an autumn variety, but even so! I suppose this is because we had a relatively mild autumn this year.
  • We forgot to get our Advent calendar out yesterday! Mr C’s mum gave us a chocolate Advent calendar. I am against chocolate Advent calendars (I know, I am a miserable thing, as my mum would say). They just seem wrong to me because surely the whole point of Advent is waiting (not necessarily for chocolate, obviously); not having your chocolate and eating it, as it were.  Anyway, I don’t know if I can really bring myself to eat the Advent chocolate, but I will probably succumb to temptation before the 25th (or maybe even the 5th) of December…
  • As mentioned in the previous blog post, we have two choir concerts this week.
  • The trains have been late quite a lot. This is as annoying as it is predictable. I would like to know whether the train companies calculate their reliability statistics based on when a train actually arrives at a station or when the display board says it’s arrived. These are often two quite different times.
  • There have been some nice winter sunsets. I tried to take a photo of today’s but it came out rather blurry and full of trees.
4 thoughts on “Recently

  1. I bet my garden is worse than yours! 🙂 No raspberries in mine for a start, that is cool to have your oven raspberries and so late in the year too. Are they as nice as summer ones? Surely better than anything from the supermarket anyway. I’ve been doing some lace knitting too, but nothing as brave as a blanket!

    I’m with you on the chocolate advent calendars, my relatives usually give us one, even though I’m way too old, and I’d rather they didn’t! (None this year so far, though for all I know my mother has one lurking in wait next time we see them.) I try to limit my chocolate intake for diet reasons and preferably to just things which are worth the calories (Lindor… mmm…) and while my husband is more than happy to eat them, his waistline is expanding! It’s a hard enough time of year for keeping the weight off. I’m turning into a right old grinch though, most everything about modern Christmas irritates me, all the overindulgence and waste, so much rubbish for landfill. Bah Humbug! 😉

    1. I’ve found the autumn raspberries are slightly different to the summer ones – perhaps a bit more like loganberries in some ways – they can get bigger than summer raspberries if you leave them long enough.

      I’m with you on Lindor! May favourites! 🙂

  2. Great news that all is going well with the pregnancy and also with the pacemaker checks. Exciting to see the baby on the scan – are you going to find out in advance if it’s a boy or a girl?
    A friend of mine never puts any decorations up until Christmas Eve because she says it seems wrong – like decorating a room before someone’s birthday too far in advance. I used to feel a bit like this myself but now I have got older have changed my mind. I would definitely eat the chocolate 🙂

  3. Thanks. We did ask the radiographer if they could see if it’s a boy or girl, but the baby was in an awkward position so they couldn’t say for sure. We don’t mind, though.

Leave a reply

