The cold time of year

I think it must now be a personal Christmas/Advent tradition that I get a cold this time of year. So, yes, today I am off work with a cold, and I was yesterday, as well. I’m probably a bit wimpy about colds – I know lots of people struggle on and go into work but I don’t, because (a) usually I can’t think very well when I have a cold (at least in the early stages) so I would be no use to anyone anyway and (b) I don’t want to give the cold to anyone else. When I was more dutiful I might have gone to work even though I was feeling ill, but then people would usually tell me I should be at home, etc., and now I’ve decided they were right. I think my mind changed about this after I had heart surgery, which might seem odd, but I think this was the point at which I decided to try and look after myself a bit better. So now I stay at home and feel slightly guilty.

I’m feeling better today than I was yesterday, and I’m hoping to be back at work tomorrow. It’s still not the end of term for us, as we’re open until 1 pm on Christmas Eve. Needless to say, I’m looking forward to finishing for Christmas, and then staying in for a while. I think I might be a hibernating animal in disguise (not a very good disguise).

2 thoughts on “The cold time of year

  1. You really shouldn’t feel guilty, I think more people should do this. Better for not spreading colds and also for better quality work. Hope you get better soon! 🙂

Leave a reply

