Mug cozy

ImageI made this in November. The pattern is Cable Mug Cozy by Naomi Adams. I wasn’t going to write about it because it’s not really very exciting, but I decided I would because it was, despite it’s run-of-the-mill appearance, a knitting milestone for me. This is because it was the first time I’d done cables and also the first time I’d done crochet (which is needed for the edges of the cozy where it fits around the mug handle). Neither the cables nor the crochet were as difficult as I was expecting them to be. I must try more of both soon. Meanwhile, I’m still working on the baby blanket…I might get it finished before Christmas, but I can’t promise anything. I think I’m going through a tired stage again, so I haven’t really felt like knitting in the evenings. I know it’s not particularly strenuous, but the pattern I’m following requires more concentration than I can manage at the moment!

2 thoughts on “Mug cozy

  1. It is interesting reading how you are learning different techniques. When I see people who make amazing masterpieces I assume they were born knowing how to knit and crochet ๐Ÿ™‚

    Maybe the baby is having a growth spurt at the moment! (which is why you are feeling so tired).

    Never mind about not being able to find out if you are having a boy or a girl. I didn’t find out with either of mine before they were born and it was a nice surprise.

  2. I learned to crochet before so I think it’s easy, it’s also really fun and there are things you can do much easier than with knitting. Cables are my next thing to try ๐Ÿ™‚ though I’ve done crochet cables. Small projects are a great way to try new techniques, your mug cosy looks like it worked really well.

Leave a reply

