Appointments

Sorry again for the lack of posts here. I think posts are going to be few and far between from now on, as BabyMouse (BM) is, unsurprisingly, taking up most of my time. I’m writing this now as Mr C is looking after a sleeping BM – she has slept most of today, which is good in a way, because we can (in theory) get on with things, but, on the other hand, I’m quite worried that she’ll be awake all night! She met her great-grandparents for the first time today. We had a nice but tiring day, including lots of chat and a Chinese meal for lunch. She’s growing well – eating a lot – and has learned to do exciting things like holding her head up, pushing with her legs and smiling! She has also learned to do a sad face when she’s upset, which is very, very effective in terms of getting the nearest adult to rush to her aid!

I’m doing a bit better now. Mentally, I’m usually OK unless BM isn’t OK, and then I get into a bit of an anxiety spiral. On Tuesday, the GP said I looked better than when she last saw her and that I’d given her a proper smile for the first time! Also on Tuesday, I had another glucose tolerance test, to see whether or not the pregnancy-induced diabetes has gone. I should get the results in about a week. On Monday, I went to the cardiac outpatients, to the pregnancy clinic actually, which was a bit odd, as I’m not pregnant! I saw the friendly doctor I’d seen back in March when I went for my postnatal check-up. I had another ultrasound (echo) on my heart a couple of weeks ago, which he said showed some improvement from the one I’d had in March (which had showed that the left side of  my heart had got weaker during pregnancy). So no medication for me yet. They’re going to wait six months (ish) after the birth to see whether my heart recovers completely (well, at least back to the state it was in before pregnancy). This means a lovely exercise test for me and another echo. Apparently after six months they will know whether or not the heart will recover properly. If it’s still weaker than it was before pregnancy they will give me some kind of medication. So we shall see. People often ask me if I’m on any medication for my heart (if they don’t assume I am, which lots of people do) and I’m  quite pleased to be able to say ‘no’, but if it’s necessary I don’t have any problems with taking it – I know I’ve been fortunate not to have had to take any for so long.

Anyway, I must go and water the plants and sort out BM’s things before bed-time. Yes, we go to bed early in this house now!

 

Author: Lilian

Librarian who likes music, cataloguing, theology, gardening, crochet, ampersands, taking photos, baking & tea. Has CHD & pacemaker.

2 thoughts on “Appointments”

  1. Yay, nice to read another blog post from you 🙂 I know that it must be incredibly hard to find the time to do anything apart from looking after BabyMouse at the moment. I stayed with my daughter for a week recently to help out as she has a 6 week old baby and a three year old so I know what it is like!

    Glad to hear that everything is going well and that you are feeling better. You have survived the first few weeks and things will get easier from now on.

    I bet it was great fun introducing BabyMouse to her great-grandparents. I like the bit about her learning a sad face to get everyone rushing to her aid :).

    My daughter has found her second baby a lot easier than her first. He seems to be a lot calmer and doesn’t cry a lot though he fusses and grimaces but without any sound coming out. (Having said that he does seem to spend most of the time in her arms feeding or sleeping so he is obviously good at getting what he wants!). If he does have a crying period it seems to be mid afternoon to early evening. He is smiling now and is quite strong, kicking and waving his arms around when she puts him on the changing mat.

    Anyway, all the best and hope you got a good night’s sleep.

  2. I’m also glad to hear from you. Good news that BM is growing and thriving! Also good news about your health too. I’m sure the pregnancy induced diabetes will have resolved. I also fully believe that your heart can heal and grow strong too. I just read a wonderful book “The Biology of Belief” by Bruce Lipton which talks about why the brain is so powerful in inducing healing, and does it in a very scientific way rather than a bunch of “woo woo” new agey stuff. I’m pretty “woo woo” at times but my left brain appreciates the scientific grounding…

    Anyway, I am minded of something another of my blog friends posted, in a series of “cards” about parental lack of sleep: “The baby’s fed, changed, and sleeping! Let’s turn the lights down, put on some soft music and SLEEP LIKE CRAZY”

Leave a reply

