June, June, June

  • We went to visit my parents again, and met up with some ex-library trainees at the same time.
  • I think BabyMouse has started teething – she is crotchety, dribbling a lot and constantly chewing her fingers and anything else she can hold and/or get into her mouth.
  • I went to Library Camp South East. It was an interesting day, and lovely to see library friends/colleagues again.
  • I tried to knit again, again without much success. I’m trying to do a garter tab cast on, which I’ve never done before, which isn’t helping. I’ve looked at YouTube videos, which are very helpful, but I must still be doing something wrong.
  • I finished Life After Life and started and finished A Delicate Truth.
  • I’ve been a bit miserable again this month – feeling a bit sad and lonely and not always coping very well with BabyMouse. It was good to go back to my home town for the weekend (see first item) but it was a bit bittersweet as being there just makes me want to be there all the time. I like where we live, and we do have lovely neighbours and friends here, but most of them are a lot older than us, and/or busy, and work-related friends live quite far away. Mainly, I think I miss my mum, and I’ve been spending too much time on my own with BabyMouse who, lovely though she may be, hasn’t really mastered conversation yet. Anyway…
  • …I’ve been trying to go to more mother and baby groups. I think we made it to the library’s Baby Bounce and Rhyme sessions every week and we managed to get to the Salvation Army group twice last week, all of which helped. I think I need to get to know some other mums a bit better so I feel a bit less isolated. It’s just easier said than done when (a) I’m rubbish at talking to people I don’t know and (b) all the mums seem to know one another and have their cliques which are quite hard to break into. But I will persevere.
  • I bought a new dress for Mr C’s cousin’s wedding (August).
  • Sorry this month’s upate has been a bit moany!
5 thoughts on “June, June, June

  1. It is Hard Work, isn’t it? And I completely understand the cliquey mum’s groups thing. Do you have a Sure Start centre near you? Ours has a squillion groups you can turn up to and loads of help on offer. I find anything that gets us out of the house is helpful when I am feeling rubbish. x

    1. There are several Sure Start Centres (or Children’s Centres, as they call them here) around, but none of them are within easy walking distance or bus routes (they are on bus routes but I have to walk into town to get the bus by which time I almost may as well have walked there) and we don’t have a car, so I haven’t gone to them apart from when I went to see midwives there.

  2. Lovely to read your monthly update.

    I know this is going to sound a radical suggestion and may be completely impractical but do you think it would be out of the question to move back to your home town to be near your Mum at some stage in the future. It would be so nice for both of you and maybe she could help out with childcare.

    I like the dress you’ve just bought. My son has just got engaged so I am looking forward to going shopping for a new outfit for the wedding soon 🙂

    1. I would love to move back to my home town, but unfortunately it wouldn’t be possible for Mr C to commute to work from there, and he is currently in his ideal job! Congratulations for your son’s engagement!

  3. Yes, it is a dilemma isn’t it. My daughter is in the same situation. We are staying with her and her husband and the boys at the moment but they have recently moved a very long way away with her husband’s job and I do miss them all and she misses us and her friends. Although it is interesting exploring a new area and she has made some new friends.

    Thanks for your good wishes about the engagement 🙂

Leave a reply

