The shrinking blogosphere

I started blogging a long time ago (in Internet terms, anyway). I don’t have a great memory, but my first experience of blogging in something I remember fairly clearly. I was a postgrad student, sitting in my room in Aberystwyth (with my own internet connection – whoo!) when I discovered a blogging tool called Diaryland. I don’t think I had ever heard of blogging, as such. I just wanted somewhere to write and share my thoughts – I don’t even really know why this appealed to me – narcissism, possibly! Anyway, I started off in Diaryland, writing about I don’t remember what. I saved all my posts in Word when I closed the account, so I could find out, but perhaps I’d rather not! I moved to Blogger after a couple of years. I don’t think I wrote consistently during those couple of years, but once I moved to Blogger I did write pretty regularly. [Most of those Blogger posts got transferred to WordPress when I moved here, so if you can read them if you go back in the archives – not that I would recommend this!] I didn’t find Blogger particularly easy to use, and it (then, not sure about now) had less flexible customisation options, so I decided to move to WordPress in 2006.

Anyhow, in those early days of my blogging career, which I would count as 2003-2006, I was the only person I knew in real life who blogged. I didn’t tell anyone I knew in real life about my blog until about 2005-6, when I moved to my current workplace and found more like-minded (i.e. geeky (I mean this as a compliment)) people, and then I think someone actually discovered my blog before I told them about it so it wasn’t really a choice to tell people about it then either! But actually, I was glad to be discovered, in some ways. It gave my blog more of a purpose to know that real people were reading it, even though I then had to be more careful/thoughtful about what I wrote – this was not necessarily a bad thing, although you probably wouldn’t notice any improvement, looking at the posts from this time. Moving on…it turned out that the person who discovered my blog also blogged, and I found other people I knew online through H2G2 had blogs as well, and suddenly I didn’t feel alone in the blogosphere anymore.

Gradually, over the years, I found more people I know in real life were keeping blogs. I wonder when the peak time was; perhaps around 2009? I don’t really know, but I think that in the past few years the people who were mainstays of my part of the blogosphere have, little by little, stopped posting. There are a couple of people who still post, and some new bloggers on the scene, but I do feel that perhaps the blogosphere, or at least my little corner of it, is shrinking. It makes me a bit sad, silly though that may be, but it was nice to have company. But still, as I said there are new bloggers around, including some people I know in real life, so perhaps I am being a little pessimistic about the demise of the blogosphere at this point.

I suppose part of my thoughts about the shrinking (?) blogosphere is along the lines of ‘ if these people (who, by the way, wrote great posts) are no longer blogging, maybe it’s time for me to stop as well’. But I think thoughts like that a lot, and here I am, still rambling on over 10 years later. I don’t know why I carry on. I think I just enjoy the process of writing and publishing too much. I’m still a narcissist, after all.

P.S. I’m not saying everyone who blogs is a narcissist.

6 thoughts on “The shrinking blogosphere

  1. I should imagine writing a blog is like writing a book. You write it partly for yourself and partly for your readers. You write it for yourself because it helps you to understand yourself and the world better and you write it for your readers as a way of contributing your thoughts about things in case they might be of use to anyone.

    I think people who write blogs regularly are very generous people. It isn’t an easy thing to do especially as they have to be ever careful about what they write and it is time consuming. But it is very much appreciated by the people who read them. Hope you will carry on blogging for a long time 🙂

  2. I suspect these things go in waves – people stop, start again, stop again, while other people who have something to say start saying it. Blogging is here to stay, but the landscape will change frequently.

Leave a reply

