Tired

This is a blog post about how tired I’m feeling. There, now you know you can either (a) stop reading because you can tell it’s not going to be very interesting or (b) carry on at your own peril – perhaps it will send you to sleep, which might be good if you’re tired as well.

Despite work actually being somewhat of a rest I am feeling very tired at the moment. I’m not sure whether this is because Babymouse is getting heavier and therefore harder to carry and push round (and up the many hills in Medway) in her pushchair or because I’m now working and looking after a baby (although of course not at the same time and my mum and Mr C do lots of the looking after baby bit) or whether the heart is just not very happy at the moment.

Lulu's first day out

A tired cat. Picture by hehadan on Flickr

I think perhaps it’s all of those things. I’ve changed my medication from the ACE-inhibitor to something with an even longer name, an angiotensin II antagonist, also known as an angiotensin II receptor blocker. We (the doctor and I) decided to change it as the ACE-inhibitor was (we think) the cause of an irritating tickley cough I’d had since November. The good news is, the cough seems to have gone, but the bad news is that we have to go through the whole rigmarole of starting on a low dose, having blood tests and gradually increasing the dose if all is OK…which is fine apart from I’m now on a low dose of medication again and I suspect it’s not doing very much – at least it doesn’t feel like it is. I don’t like it. I’m having trouble pushing trolleys round at work – something I used to not have much problem with, but the worst things are not being able to carry Babymouse for long and it is a massive struggle getting back up the hill with the pushchair when we’ve been into town. I have to stop lots of times! It’s frustrating and makes me feel a bit sad for some reason.

Let us hope the medication makes a positive difference once the dose is increased. I’m having my pacemaker checked on Monday. I’m (weirdly) slightly looking forward to this – time out on my own and time to read!

In other news, I finished my first proper crocheted item. Pictures may follow.

One thought on “Tired

  1. I feel very sympathetic as I can imagine you are feeling exhausted at the moment. I think the best thing to do is to tackle the problem methodically and try to make things as easy as possible for yourself.

    The first thing would be to check your physical health and to make sure you are eating well. The medication is being dealt with, but could there be anything else, eg anaemia, hormone imbalance etc?

    One thing that has helped me in the past is to make a big long list of everything to do in a day and to work out if there is a better way of doing things. I used to be really bad at delegating but now I don’t mind so much.

    One area where you can save a lot of time is household chores – getting groceries delivered, buying a tumble drier etc. If things are really bad you could even consider hiring a cleaner and someone to help with the garden, maybe just occasionally if money is tight.

    You should not really be pushing heavy trollies at work! Although it is difficult you need to ask for help if you need it. Likewise with pushing buggies up hills. Not a good idea!

    Anyway I hope things improve for you. I think you cope amazingly well.

Leave a reply

