Chronic life?

Definition of chronic in English [from Oxford Dictionaries online]:

adjective

1(Of an illness) persisting for a long time or constantly recurring:chronic bronchitis*

I’ve been following Britt AKA @HurtBlogger on Twitter for a while now. She lives with debilitating conditions of various kinds (or unkinds) and, along with other bloggers/tweeters, uses the hashtag #ChronicLife to document the way these conditions affect her life. It has been slowly, very slowly (over 38 or so years) dawning on me that perhaps I too, live a “chronic life”.  Even now my life is pretty easy compared to Britt’s (I know it’s not a competition, I’m just saying) – it’s just the constant tiredness/near-exhaustion that’s getting to me at the moment, so things could be a lot worse. But it (=mainly my heart condition with an occasional side of migraine) is affecting my life in ways it hasn’t before – at least not on a long-term full-time (chronic) basis.

But now it is. I have to plan my energy use, which means I can’t always do things I’d like to do. Despite having a congenital heart defect, this is fairly new for me (which is one reason I keep writing about it, sorry about that). Whether the lack of energy is caused by my heart or ‘just’ the medication, the end result is the same – re-planning, rethinking, restriction. Just simple things like ‘do I have enough energy to go to take B to the library today?’ (yesterday the answer was ‘no’). It’s annoying. And, yes, I am whinging.

I’m going to see the cardiologist on Monday. I don’t think there’s much that can be done about the tiredness, especially if it’s a side effect – I can’t really stop taking the medicine! -but at least I can let them know about it and makes sure it’s not the heart itself. I don’t know what we will do if the meds aren’t working (or not working well enough).

Here endeth today’s complaining.

*It’s actually not that easy to define chronic conditions/illnesses etc.

Author: Lilian

Librarian who likes music, cataloguing, theology, gardening, crochet, ampersands, taking photos, baking & tea. Has CHD & pacemaker.

3 thoughts on “Chronic life?”

  1. I think you manage really well. It is exhausting at the best of times when you have an 18 month old and a job, let alone when you have a heart condition and are taking medication. You should be very proud of everything you have achieved.
    In another year Babymouse will be a lot more independent (you will have to think of another name as she won’t be a baby – well I suppose she isn’t now really, she should be Pre-schoolmouse 🙂 so there is light at the end of the tunnel. Hope all goes well with the cardiologist on Monday.

  2. Good luck on Monday. I know exactly what you mean, struggling with my slowly worsening CHD for a while now…. I wonder how ‘bad’ does it have to get before the dreaded surgery No. 4….

  3. It is annoying, not having enough energy. Whinging is a perfectly reasonable response from time to time. Don’t forget that having a small child can be a massive energy drain on a fit healthy person! You’re doing better than you give yourself credit for 🙂 and maybe the meds can be tweaked to give you a bit more energy, heart meds are notorious for taking time to get the dose right, I have heard.

Leave a reply

