MOT report

I went for my annual outpatients appointment with the cardiologist on Monday. By coincidence one of my friends who has a similar heart condition had her appointment with the same cardiologist around the same time, so we sat in various waiting rooms together and had lunch once we’d both finished our appointments, which was nice. It made the waiting times go much faster, which was good, as it turned out we’d both got their quite early and our echo appointments clashed with our appointments to see the cardiologist for some reason (I think the computers had gone wrong).

Anyway, the good news is my heart function is fine so that’s unlikely to be causing the tiredness. The sort-of bad news is that she doesn’t really know what could be causing it, although she agreed that it could be the beta blockers. She suggested reducing the dose for two months to see if that makes any difference, so I’ll try that and let her know if I don’t feel any better. If reducing the dose doesn’t work she said we could try stopping the beta blockers and/or changing my pacemaker to a bi-ventricular one . Changing the pacemaker is something we will do anyway sometime in the future, but (unless I don’t feel better after reducing the beta blockers) my cardiologist said we would just (haha) do it at the same time as I was having something else done (although she didn’t specify what his would be – I should have asked but assumed valve replacement as this and pacemaker changes are the only thing I’m aware I’ll need doing in the future…).

I’m reducing the dose of the beta blocker from 7.5 to 5 mg. I’ll let you know how it goes!

Author: Lilian

Librarian who likes music, cataloguing, theology, gardening, crochet, ampersands, taking photos, baking & tea. Has CHD & pacemaker.

4 thoughts on “MOT report”

  1. Great news that all went well on Monday and that your heart function is fine. You can relax now that the appointment is over – you sound a lot happier 🙂

  2. Good to hear, I felt tiredness on the ACE inhibitors I had to take, so with my cardiologist’s permission I came off them. The next day I felt I could have run a marathon! Hopefully you will feel better soon too.

Leave a reply

