38, 10, 2

I am now 38. Which is good (I’m still alive) and surprising (I’m nearly 40). Mr C bought me the entire Poirot DVD collection for my birthday, one of the best presents ever.

We’ve been married 10 years! We don’t usually do much for our anniversary, but this year we went to London for the weekend. My mum came to look after B. I surprised Mr C with tickets to see War of the Worlds, which was really good – I say this as someone who isn’t really a fan of it. There were some dodgy moments, but overall I think it was done well.On Sunday we went to the Sherlock Holmes Museum, which I didn’t like very much, mainly because it contained waxworks, which I find disturbing. However, I did like the messages posted in various places around 221B Baker Street by Sherlock/Holmes fans, e.g.:

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

After that, we went to look at the Wallace Collection. This was most excellent. I think my favourite pictures were the van de Veldes – very calming.

Later on Sunday, we went for afternoon tea at the Landmark Hotel, which was Mr C’s surprise for me. We ate far too much food! I did take some pictures of the lovely cakes, etc. but I seem to have lost them or not downloaded them. I’ll post them another time, hopefully.

We stayed at St Ermin’s Hotel, which is lovely. They also have a hotel for bees!

IMG_20160221_110018
St Ermin’s Hotel foyer

IMG_20160221_093230

IMG_20160221_093255
The Bee Hotel ‘rooms’

B is 2! She still doesn’t really know about birthdays, but I think she had a nice few days of cake and presents even if she didn’t quite know why these things were happening. Here she is a few weeks ago, looking like the cheeky monkey she is:

IMG_20160208_144257
Sorry it’s a bit blurry – she’s hard to capture on a camera phone

 

7 thoughts on “38, 10, 2

  1. I love the pic of Babymouse. She looks like a lovely little girl. I bet she enjoyed her birthday and all the presents.

    Wow, you had a great weekend. It was interesting clicking on the links and reading about all the amazing experiences you had. I think this is the time of year when it’s good to get out of the house and do something different. (Well, maybe not today – there was a sort of mini blizzard here this morning!).

    And congratulations on your birthday, Babymouse’s birthday and your ten year wedding anniversary (gosh time goes by, doesn’t it?). February/March time is certainly busy in your house:).

  2. So many things to love about this post…the cute baby “B”, Poirot, London, Sherlock Holmes., birthday trip to London (love the photos), and more…such happiness! Thank you for sharing!

Leave a reply

