Pre-diabetes? No, I’d never heard of it either…

However, it turns out I have this condition, otherwise known as impaired glucose tolerance (IGT).  I’m going to have to eat a more restricted diet (although it’s really just a healthy diet) – a big reduction in sweet things, healthier versions of carbohydrates and more fruit and (especially) veg. Having said that, it’s not like I eat a wildly unhealthy diet at the moment, so I’m a bit cheesed off about having IGT – I’m not overweight and I eat lots of vegetables…so either I’m eating too many ‘bad’ carbs (we do eat a lot of rice and pasta) and/or the IGT is a result of (or related to) me having had gestational diabetes. I can’t help feeling that having IGT is my fault for enjoying food too much. Sigh. Still, at least now I know I have it I can try and do something about it and (hopefully) avoid developing type 2 diabetes.

No more pizza for me! 😦

4 thoughts on “Pre-diabetes? No, I’d never heard of it either…

  1. It may be a good thing this has happened as now you will be eating a super healthy diet. I have found that as I have got older I am content with just a small amount of sweet things. For example I only have one square of chocolate (70% cocoa) a day. Or if I go out for a meal I just have a small spoonful of my husband’s dessert. He begrudges me that though:).

    My daughter says she doesn’t know how I can do this. She cannot stop at one square of chocolate or a small amount of pudding so either has to eat none (which she can do as she is quite determined) or she has to eat the whole lot. But I find the first bite is the best. I think they should make cakes and pizza mainly plain and healthy but with just a tiny bit of deliciousness in the middle.

  2. Dont give up! On the brighter side you’ll be eating far far healthy and it will reflect in your body and in your actions. I’m not a strict dieter but I had to shun all kinds of delectable foods to loose weight for my knee problem, even though I’m not overweight. It sucks at times, there’s nothing like the taste of a cake laden with sugar and cream, but it definitely has left me feeling better, energetic and my knee has been getting better with workouts and weight loss too. You will prevail over your problems if you keep a positive outlook and an iron will 🙂

Leave a reply

