You say ‘mind blowing’, I say ‘weird’

I went went for my pacing check last Monday. All was well. In fact, my heart is actually working better than it was before. For some reason (unknown), the node that wasn’t working, which meant that the lower ventricle of my heart was being paced all the time as I had complete heart block, is now working quite well. The technician has now changed the algorithm so that my heart will work on its own as much as possible, but the pacemaker will still stop my heart rate less than 60 bpm. The technician this change in the node’s behaviour was “mind blowing”. I said it was weird. But, either way, it is good.

Image: Atlas Pacemaker by Travis Godspeed via Flickr

5 thoughts on “You say ‘mind blowing’, I say ‘weird’

  1. That is great news. It may be worth writing down any changes you made in your life during the period when it went from not working to working (such as diet, lifestyle, medication). Then you could give the list to your consultant next time you see them. It could be useful for research into heart problems.

    Anyway, whatever the reason it Is very good news 🙂

  2. Yes, the change in diet and trying to do more exercise were the only things I could think of when I was at the appointment. I mentioned trying to do more exercise but not the diet as I didn’t really see how that could affect my heart, but I guess it could so I probably should have mentioned it!

    1. I’ve had the settings changed quite a lot over the years – it took a while to get them right for me. I’ve had my pacemaker for about 7 and a half years now, on its second box.

Leave a reply

