MOT report

img_20160622_133850-1
Art by Martha Hall, Beany House of Art & Knowledge, Canterbury. 22nd June 2016

Basically, my heart is about the same as it was last year, apart from the changes in its electrics, which is good. Although the heart muscle function is impaired, the impairment hasn’t got any worse since last year – the echo pictures look basically the same. I’m currently feeling less tired than I was the last time I had my MOT, which is also good, but we don’t really know whether this is due to reducing the dosage of beta-blockers, having a day ‘off’ a week or improved diet. So, the plan is to carry on as we are and then re-test everything as usual next year.

She asked me if I had any questions, so I asked about my long term prospects. These are OK at the moment. I will probably need my valve replacing at some point in the next few years, but we hope this can be done percutaneously (this is not a word, according to WordPress spellcheck!) rather than by open heart surgery. I might never have to have open heart surgery again! One can only hope. Also, if my heart muscle function gets worse they will add in some medication and will probably change my pacemaker to more modern one (bi-ventricular?). I will probably start feeling palpitations more and more as I get older, but these can be treated with meds and/or ablation.

As you can see, there are a quite a few ‘probablys’. It’s hard to predict what will happen – my heart could remain stable at this level of (dys)function (actually not too bad, considering) forever or it could get worse, in which case see above. If it ever gets really bad, things like transplant and mechanical hearts are an option, but my cardiologist doesn’t think it will ever get to that stage. Let us hope not.

So, for now, the news is good. Onwards…

4 thoughts on “MOT report

  1. This all sounds very good news. It is particularly good that you may not need any more open heart surgery. Also that you are feeling less tired. And as B gets older it will be less tiring anyway. It is all very positive.

Leave a reply

