Please don’t call me a hero

I’m re-blogging this post from last year because I found the post that inspired me to write it (I couldn’t think of it at the time for some reason): this post by Sarah at The Adventures of Ernie Bufflo: https://erniebufflo.com/2014/01/29/my-child-with-a-disability-is-not-my-hero/ – so please read this before you read mine! She is a great writer and expresses what I want to say (although from a different perspective) much better than I can!

The shape of my heart

This is a picture of a picture of me in our then garden when I was about four:

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

In case you didn’t know, I hate having my photo taken and I almost never wear make up. A few weeks ago I decided it would be a good idea to volunteer to have my picture taken for the Somerville Foundation’s second Scarred for Life exhibition. This involved having my photo taken and wearing make up…and having my hair cut (a bit) and straightened (which I actually like). I was nervous about the process of having my photo taken, but it wasn’t so bad. I didn’t really feel like ‘normal me’ because my hair looked so different, so I didn’t feel like I wanted to hide like I usually do when face to face with a camera. I did, however, find it more of an emotional experience than I expected. I had…

View original post 494 more words

Author: Lilian

Librarian who likes music, cataloguing, theology, gardening, crochet, ampersands, taking photos, baking & tea. Has CHD & pacemaker.

1 thought on “Please don’t call me a hero”

Leave a reply

