Wisdom tooth

I had my third wisdom tooth out yesterday. The local anaesthetic injections were the worst bit. I didn’t cry as much as when I had the filling in June. I kept the tooth, although now I’m not sure what to do with it.

2984123316_75a57e528c_o
Wisdom Teeth by Taryn on Flickr

All credit to the dentist who was very good – he was very calming and explained everything before he did it, both what he was going to do and why he was going to do it. This helped a lot. Also, it didn’t hurt once the injections had kicked in. There was noisy cutting, as he had to cut off the top of the tooth before he could take it out – it was in a position similar to the one in the illustration above – leaning on the tooth next to it. I didn’t like the noise (who does?) but it wasn’t for very long. I didn’t commit any violent acts* and I wasn’t rude to anyone, so that was a triumph of sorts. Now I am trying not to do anything to make the wound bleed more, although I suspect I have already not rested enough. It’s surprisingly tiring having one tooth out!

*I’m always reminded of this quotation when I go to the dentist:

Hermione Granger: “My parents are dentists. They tend to people’s teeth.

Horace Slughorn: “Fascinating. And is that considered a dangerous profession?

Hermione Granger: “No. Although, one boy, Robbie Fenwick, did bite my father once. He needed ten stitches.

 

Author: Lilian

Librarian who likes music, cataloguing, theology, gardening, crochet, ampersands, taking photos, baking & tea. Has CHD & pacemaker.

2 thoughts on “Wisdom tooth”

  1. It’s funny how your dentist gave you your tooth back as a souvenir. I have never had that happen to me.

    Although my dentist did give me a plaster cast of my teeth. When she gave it to me it amused me the way she said casually that when I got bored of it I could throw it away.

Leave a reply

